Posted by: communicationcloud | June 18, 2010

A delightful customer experience

So, we want the experience of being a customer to be not just good, but so good that people feel a happy, warm glow when they think about dealing with us … that special element of “customer “delight”. My job is to get us there. But to do that, I needed a more specific idea of the characteristics of that delightful experience. So we had a bit of a brainstorm, and here’s what came out…

We want the experience of dealing with us to be…

(By the way, “us” = Red Gate, a software company who sell online, direct to users)

What do you think? Does this capture amazing customer experience for you, or is there something missing still? Are there specific characteristics here that you see as more important? Or ones here that you don’t care about at all?

Responses

  1. I think word clouds like this are a succinct way to capture a user experience vision. But for a vision to be meaningful, isn’t it true that someone should also want the opposite? For example, would anyone really want an experience that’s ‘unreliable, difficult, painful and complex’ (to create just 4 antonyms from your list)? I can believe that someone would prefer ‘anonymous’ to ‘personal’ in some situations, but otherwise the adjectives you have run the risk of sounding a bit like platitudes. What do you think?

    • Hi David,

      I might be being a bit slow, but I’m not sure I understand your point. To attempt to paraphrase with another example, if I decide to go on holiday, and tell my travel agent that I want to go somewhere hot and tranquil, that’s only meaningful if there are other people who also want to go to cold or busy places. If that’s what you mean, I don’t agree that’s the case. I choose hot because it’s cold where I live and I choose tranquil because I find that helps me relax.

      In the same way, I think there’s still meaning in saying that I want to feel I can rely on the product support team to answer my questions (I know of other support teams that I can’t rely on); or I want to enjoy dealing with a customer service rep (it’s not enough for me just to get a timely answer, I also want it to be a pleasant experience).

      Perhaps I’ve misunderstood your point about opposites needing to be attractive too?

      However, I do recognise that this set of words is in danger of becoming a set of corporate platitudes. They say what we want people to feel, but do little to define what makes that experience: we want our customers to feel that dealing with us is hassle-free, but what does that mean? The ultimate “hassle-free” for some people might mean us going to their office and sitting next to troubleshoot their problem … but for other people this would be the ultimate “hassle”, and they’d much rather we just make all the information available to them on our website so they can solve the problem themselves, sitting in their underpants, at a time that suits them.

      My point here is that we don’t know yet how to give people the experience we want them to have … but this list gives us a starting point for recognising that experience, if you see what I mean.

  2. This is a good list. I would include “valuable” and “relationship focused” and “delightful” to this list. Check out my blog post about what a recent study had to say about the service experience at http://www.captivatedcustomers.com/2009/06/22/customer-service-downsized/.

  3. Hi Norma,

    I like your additions to the list. Your blog is interesting too – it fits with our next steps. Having recognised the experience we want people to have, it begins to look at what we can do internally to enable that experience. Thanks for drawing my attention to it.

    Rachel


Leave a Reply

Categories

